September Service Schedule

After Labor Day weekend, our Friday night Shabbat services will return to their usual 7:30 pm starting time. 

Friday, September 2—6:00 pm at Kathryn Albertson Park
Shabbat in the Park, on the lawn directly behind the huge letter boulders.
Bring a blanket or a folding chair for your comfort.
Last evening service on summer schedule

Saturday, September 3—10:00 am
Shabbat Morning Service
Portion Re’eh: Deuteronomy 11:26-16:17

Friday, September 9—Friday Night Lights Family Services
6:00 pm
Tot Shabbat
6:30 pm Shabbat Dinner ($5/age 5 and under; $10/over age 5)
7:30 pm Shabbat Evening Family Service
Special guest songleader: Will Gross, with music educator Nemmie Stieha
Birthday blessings for all with September birthdays.

Saturday, September 10—10:00 am
Shabbat Morning Service & Bat Mitzvah of Rebecca Schuldenfrei
Portion Shoftim—Deuteronomy 16:8-21:9

Friday, September 16—7:30 pm
Shabbat Evening Service

Saturday, September 17—10:00 am
Shabbat Morning Service & Torah Study
Portion Ki Tetze—Deuteronomy 21:10-25:19

Friday, September 23—5:30 pm
Early Bird Shabbat Evening Service (in the Social Hall)
5:30 pmAn hour of conversation and refreshments before the Shabbat service, including snacks, beer, wine and non-alcoholic beverages.
6:30 pmRelaxed Shabbat service at our tables, with prayers and songs that Rabbi Dan leads “in the round.”

Saturday, September 24—10:00 am
Shabbat Morning Service & Torah Study
Portion Ki Tavo—Deuteronomy 26:1-29:8

Saturday, September 24—11:00 pm
Selichot Service
A service of preparation for the coming Days of Awe
Preceded at 8:00 pm by the movie “Crime After Crime” and a short discussion session.

Friday, September 30—7:30 pm
Shabbat Evening Service

Saturday, October 1—10:00 am
Shabbat Morning Service and Torah Study
Portion Nitzavim—Deuteronomy 29:9-30:20

Tashlich is a symbolic casting off of the sins and misdeeds that we have committed over the past year.  It marks our effort to turn away from what has blocked our spiritual growth and helps us make a new start. Our tashlich service will be held on the afternoon of the first day of Rosh Hashanah on Monday, October 3, at 3:00 pm at Kathryn Albertson Park.